Exeter council members retain seats after recall - News, Weather and Classifieds for Southern New England

Exeter council members retain seats after recall

Posted: Updated:

All four councilors are keeping their town council seats after the Exeter recall election Saturday. 

The four candidates that faced the recall were Council President Arlene B. Hicks; Vice President William Monahan; Robert Johnson and Calvin A. Ellis.  All are Democrats. The one council member that did not face recall is independent Raymond A. Morrissey Jr.

The four candidates that were facing recall were all pushing for a change to the process for getting a concealed-weapon permit in Exeter.

Following the vote, all four members were at Town Hall, rejoicing.   

The council members told NBC 10 they were relieved with the results and are excited to get back to work to continue their stance on weapons regulation.

The election took place on Saturday  and when the polls closed a total of 1,864 voting ballots were cast.

The individual voting results are as follows:

Recall William P. Monahan - 1,179 No; 679 Yes

Recall Robert Johnson- 1,164 No; 693 Yes

Recall Calvin A. Ellis - 1, 171 No; 681 Yes

Recall Arlene B. Hicks - 1,171 No; 681 Yes


Powered by WorldNow

23 Kenney Drive
Cranston, R.I., 02920

Telephone: 401.455.9100
Fax: 401.455.9140
Email: news@wjar.com

Can't find something?

NBC 10 Outerwear Provided by:

NBC 10 Media Relations
Provided by:

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.